Seller Server Course
states require alcohol seller/server certification
to ensure that employees understand liquor laws and
act responsibly. This requires a short class approved
by a liquor control board.
The course is focused on the issues surrounding
responsible practices in selling and serving alcoholic
beverages. This course is approximately 2 hours in
length including the final certification quiz. Upon
completion of the entire course and passing the final
quiz, you will receive your Texas Alcoholic Beverage
Commission Seller/Server Certification.
For a very reasonable fee, we also offer a separate, state-specific
alcohol server certification course you can take online that will satisfy
the requirements in most areas. If online course is taken,
the certificate is mailed to your house and comes with
unlimited toll-free support.
» TABC Seller Server - Classroom Schedule
TABc Seller Server - Online Course (By clicking
Take It!, you will be redirected to the Learn2serve
website. As the provider of the course Learn2serve will
ask personnally identifiable information required by
the TABC and necessary to complete the course. Clicking
Take It! will not charge you any fee, however you can
refuse to be transferred to this website by choosing
not to Take It!
Approved Program #454-508
Why should I get this TABC Certification - Alcohol Seller Training?
Sep 1, 2000: Anyone who sells, serves or delivers alcoholic
beverages including persons who immediately manage,
direct, supervise or control the sale or service of
alcoholic beverages must be TABC Certified in order
for the business to continue to receive "Safe Harbor"
from fines and penalties related to employees actions.
See Chap. 50-TABC for more info.
Protection From Fines
Section 106.14 of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code
says that in the case of: "�sales, service, dispensing
or deliver of an alcoholic beverage to an intoxicated
person or a minor, action of an employee shall not be
attributable to the employer if:"
1. The employer requires its employees to attend an
approved seller-training program
2. The employee has actually attended and passed an
3. The employer has not directly or indirectly encouraged
the employee to violate such law
Over the past thirteen years a growing number of alcohol
liability lawsuits in Texas that have been settled both
in and out of court have included attempts to collect
damages from alcohol licensees for everything from auto
accidents, personal injury, property damage, pregnancy,
STD's, rape and fights Your best defense is to ensure
all of your employees are TABC Certified within 30 days
What will my employees gain from Alamo Training's
TABC Certification course?
Our course work is designed to teach Texas law that
will directly affect them as an alcohol server or seller.
They learn that they are personally responsible and
may be held liable if they sell or serve to minors or
an intoxicated or impaired person. Topics include the
(1) The definition of intoxication.
(2) The law pertaining to intoxicated
(3) The law pertaining to minors.
(4) The law pertaining to proper identification.
(5) How to detect intoxication.
(6) How to detect minors.
(7) How to detect improper identification.
(8) How to monitor customer behavior.
(9) How to use a chart showing the
effects of alcohol based on: the size, type and number
of drinks; body weight; the sex of the drinker; and
the passage of time.
(10) The dangers of alcohol poisoning.
(11) Intervention pertaining to intoxication.
(12) Intervention pertaining to minors.
(13) Sanctions for employee violations.
(14) Any other topics identified by
the commission as appropriate, giving due consideration
to developments in the law, society, and the alcoholic